Discussion of Homotopy Type Theory and Univalent Foundations
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
* Second Call for Nominations: E. W. Beth Outstanding Dissertation Prize 2020
@ 2020-03-17 14:41 Noam Zeilberger
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: Noam Zeilberger @ 2020-03-17 14:41 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: HomotopyT...@googlegroups.com

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 5063 bytes --]

forwarding on the part of Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh:
Since 2002, the Association for Logic, Language, and Information (FoLLI)
has been awarding the annual E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding
Ph.D. dissertations in Logic, Language, and Information (
http://www.folli.info/?page_id=74), with financial support of the E.W. Beth
Foundation (
Nominations are now invited for the best dissertation in these areas
resulting in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2019.

The deadline for nominations is the 15th of April 2020.


  - A dissertation is eligible for the Beth Dissertation Prize 2020, if the
Ph.D. degree has been awarded in Logic, Language, or Information between
January 1st and December 31st, 2019.
  - There are no restrictions on the nationality, ethnicity, age, gender or
employment status of the author of the nominated dissertation, nor on the
university, academic department or scientific institution formally
conferring the Ph.D. degree, nor on the language in which the dissertation
has originally been written.
  -  In accordance with the aim of the Beth Foundation to continue and
extend the work of the Dutch logician Evert Willem Beth, nominations are
invited of excellent dissertations on current topics in philosophical and
mathematical logic, computer science logic, philosophy of science,
philosophy of language, history of logic, history of the philosophy of
science and scientific philosophy in general, as well as the current
theoretical and foundational developments in information and computation,
language and cognition. Dissertations with results more broadly impacting
various research areas in their interdisciplinary investigations are
especially solicited.
  -  If a nominated dissertation has originally been written in a language
other than English, its dossier should still contain the required 10 page
English abstract, see below. If the committee decides that a nominated
dissertation in a language other than English requires translation to
English for proper evaluation, the committee can transfer its nomination to
the competition in 2021. The English translation must in such cases be
submitted before the deadline of the call for nominations in 2021. The
committee may recommend the Beth Foundation to consider supporting such
nominated dissertations for English translation, upon request by the author
of the dissertation.

The prize consists of:

  - a certificate
  - a donation of 3000 euros, provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation
  - an invitation to submit the dissertation, possibly after revision, for
publication in FoLLI Publications on Logic, Language and Information

Only digital submissions are accepted, without exception. Hard copy
submissions are not allowed. The following documents are to be submitted in
the nomination dossier:

  - The original dissertation in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf etc. not
  - A ten-page English abstract of the dissertation, presenting the main
results of each chapter.
  - A letter of nomination from the dissertation supervisor, which
concisely describes the scope and significance of the dissertation, stating
when the degree was officially awarded and the members of the Ph.D.
committee. Nominations should contain the address, phone and email details
of the nominator.
  - Two additional letters of support, including at least one from a
referee not affiliated with the academic institution that awarded the Ph.D.
degree, nor otherwise related to the nominee (e.g. former teachers,
supervisors, co-authors, publishers or relatives) or the dissertation.
  - Self-nominations are not possible.

All pdf documents must be submitted electronically, as one zip file, via
EasyChair by following the link
https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=bdp2020. In case of any problems
with the submission one should contact the chair of the committee Mehrnoosh
Sadrzadeh (m.sad...@ucl.ac.uk).

The prize will be awarded by the chair of the FoLLI board at a ceremony
during the 32nd ESSLLI summer school in University of Utrecht, August 3-14,

Beth dissertation prize committee 2020:

Samson Abramsky (University of Oxford)
Maria Aloni (University of Amsterdam)
Alexander Clark (Kings College London)
Cleo Condoravdi (Stanford University)
Robin Cooper (University of Gothenburg)
Guy Emerson (University of Cambridge)
Katrin Erk (University of Texas at Austin)
Arash Eshghi (Hariot-Watt University)
Sujata Ghosh (ISI, Chennai)
Davide Grossi (Universities of Groningen and Amsterdam)
Chris Haase (University College London)
Aurelie Herbelot (University of Trento)
Louise McNally (Universitat Pompeu Fabra Barcelona)
Reinhard Muskens (University of Amsterdam)
Laura Rimmell (Deep Mind)
Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (University College London, chair)
Matthew Stone (Rutgers)
Jouko Vaananen (University of Helsinki)
Noam Zeilberger (Ecole Polytechnique)

[-- Attachment #2: Type: text/html, Size: 17050 bytes --]

^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, other threads:[~2020-03-17 14:42 UTC | newest]

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2020-03-17 14:41 Second Call for Nominations: E. W. Beth Outstanding Dissertation Prize 2020 Noam Zeilberger

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).